MN Multi State Carry Course- $69.00**
**Your county sheriff will charge up to $100.00 for application fee.

Florida Non-Resident Permit Upgrade- $30.00*​
​*Florida requires fingerprints, Passport Photo, and application fee.
Please visit the website below for additional information.​ ​​


Gun Rental with Ammo for class- $30.00

Total Defense © 2021


Monday: CLOSED

Tuesday-Saturday: 10am-8pm

Sunday: 10am-5pm

*Last shooter 45 minutes before close

Permit to Carry Certification from Total Defense: A Personalized Fit in an Off-The-Rack World – That’s what makes us Minnesota’s Premium Shooting & Training Center.

When you get your carry certification at Total Defense you’ll receive the personalized attention that you need and deserve. Total Defense certifies thousands of Minnesotans every year for the legal carry of firearms, and throughout that experience we’ve remained steadfast in our foremost commitment to being a training facility of higher learning.

This comprehensive course also touches on the fundamentals of owning and carrying a firearm for self-defense, as well as the legal aspects of using deadly force, the aftermath of an encounter, interacting with Law Enforcement, conflict avoidance through situational awareness, the physical and physiological reactions to violence, and home security and self-defense in the home. The course also touches on gear and gadgets and the importance of continued training.

Once in the range, our highly-experienced instructors will coach and mentor you through the live-fire qualification. Unlike many of our competitors, we have the convenience of being a one-stop-shop with our indoor range being on-site, which reduces driving hassle & inconvenience, and time you spend on the class.

6001 167th Ave NW

Ramsey, MN 55303

Ph: 763-432-6134


“I can’t believe five hours had already gone by!”
“Don’t bother going anywhere else!”
“CCW is a serious commitment, so don’t take it lightly. Do it right and take your training at Total Defense.”
“My new home range.”



  • ​What do I need to bring?
    • You will need to bring your ID, form of payment, a handgun unloaded and cased with no ammo in the magazines,  50 rounds of factory brass cased ammo, eye and ear protection if you have it. 
  • I do not own a handgun. Do you provide one?
    • We do have rentals available. Ammo for all rentals must be purchased at Total Defense for liability reasons.
  • Can 2 people share one firearm?
    • Typically yes. You must go in separate times into the range. However if we only have one session, one of you must rent a firearm. Rental firearms may NOT be shared.
  • How long is the class?
    • It’s roughly 5 hours long start to finish including the range time.
  • When can I take it?
    • We have multiple classes every week. Click on the ‘Online Scheduling’ tab at the top of the web page to check days and availability.
  • How many states does it cover?
    • 28 in Total - We also offer Florida Certification that brings it up to 35 in total.
  • Is experience required?
    • It is not. Our curriculum covers the basics you’ll need for this class.
  • Are private sessions available?
    • Yes. We offer the convenience of private classes for groups and organizations. We can come to you as well!